CD review: ‘Anatomy Of Loss’ – Battle Helm

Screen Shot 2017-09-06 at 00.09.09.pngI don’t know why but whenever I see this band’s name I come to think of that old British band Earthcorpse.

They did two splendid albums of death doom. I don’t know if you remember them but they were absolutely brilliant. I also get vibes of early My Dying Bride, Anathema and Paradise Lost from this lot.

You know the very British kind of death doom from the 90s. If I were to place this album anywhere it would be just there. Perhaps with a touch of Swedeath too. It might all sound very retro and it is but not in a stale old sounding way. I am of the belief that music can never get old and that is what I feel when I listen to this. This is as fresh as daisies on a field.

4/5

Anders Ekdahl
Battle Helm

Leave a Reply

